Posted by: nchanxetsy | 26/06/2009

He agreed to do WHAT?!

My husband is a big Magic: The Gathering player.  He’s a big hobby shop enthusiast in general.  He’s a loving man, and very responsible, but I admit, I get a little nervous when a new M:tg comes out and the rent is due.  It’s a temptation that has plague even the most responsible person.  He spends a lot to keep up with his hobby, and rightfully so.  He could very well be a pro player, and hopefully one day, he will be able to do that.

I’m originally from Chicago, and just recently became a permanent resident of Canada.  All the interesting hobbies I had in the big city are all but dead now – and since I just recently had a baby, it makes it difficult to get into new ones.  I can’t even get back into my old standby, creative writing, because the baby is creatively spitting up/pooping/peeing on me, but I digress.  I’ve tried to live vicariously through my husband and his hobbies, but that didn’t work.  Finally, exasperated and burnt out, I let him know I couldn’t take it anymore.  I had to find a hobby.

Husband: There are plenty of hobbies.  Why not try (insert crazy epic board game here) or even DnD (Dungeons and Dragons for the uninitiated, but if you are a child of the 80s and you watched CBS Saturday morning cartoons, you have no excuse)?

Me: I am not into that sort of gaming.  That’s not my thing.

Husband: Why not play video games?  I can buy a (insert new console gaming system here)?

Me: I’m not into anything out there right now.  Besides, my SNES is fine.

Husband: Well, what do you want to do, then?

Me: I want to write and look nice.  I’m tired of looking raggedy.  I want a change.

Somehow, it ended up that my husband promised me $100 CDN a month to satiate my desire to improve my appearance and get back into writing.  And now, I’ve decided to use all, if not a majority of the cash toward my newest obsession.

Etsy.  Yes, THAT etsy.

I’m already having items custom made for me and even bought a few items from friends.  But every month, I will either buy an available item or have one made from me by an awesome seller.  Then I will feature them here.  Heck, I might even feature all possible item makers on this blog.  Why?  Because indie crafters can never have enough publicity, and because this also helps me fuel my passion to write.  Also, I’ve always wanted to start and KEEP UP WITH a blog, and since my husband strives to make me happy, I have the chance to do that now.

So, pull up a chair, take out your lunch, and stick around.  It’s going to be an interesting journey.

Leave a Reply

Categories

