Posted by: nchanxetsy | 07/07/2009

Is Writing a Craft? Or I might start a zine!

I envy each and every seller on etsy, and I’m sure my blog has illustrated that in the two weeks it’s been live.

Each person who sells on etsy has a craft that can make people happy and satisfy their needs.  The fact that they are compensated for it doesn’t even matter (well, I’d like to think that it doesn’t matter, but in an economy such as this one, you never know…).  What matters more is that they get to do something they love and just happen to be handsomely rewarded for it.  Etsy treats their sellers with the utmost respect and care, and in the few weeks I’ve been buying items there, I’ve been extremely satisfied.  Never have I met such a customer-service friendly bunch.  And any person who is able to quit their day job and focus on their craft is truly blessed indeed.

Did I mention how envious I am?

I would love nothing more than to sell my wares on etsy and bust my arse getting the word out (I have this blog here, so I am well on my way), but alas, I am not blessed with the gift of craft.  Yes,  I know there are some people out there who learn soapmaking and jewellery-making just to make cash, but I’m not like that.  Besides, I’d like to leave that to the folks who already rock it.  But I think selling on Etsy would be a wonderful experience, but it would take a lot of hardwork.  So, while I was up in the middle of the night, changing my baby boy, it came to me.

I could make a zine and sell it on Etsy, if I desired it.

Let me explain.  I’ve been writing stories and essays since I could pick up a pen.  My mom and I created our own stories and workbooks because she couldn’t always afford the workbooks offered by my first-grade teacher (apparently, they were much better because I was always on the Honour Roll).  Since then, I have notebooks and journals littered with half-done stories, finished stories, and other musings.  I even take part in National Novel Writing Month in November (you should too!)  If there is any craft I have taken care to improve over the years, it’s my writing.  People say I’m a great writer, but I’m far too critical of myself to believe them.

So, it came to pass that I thought that if I were to truly sell on Etsy, I would sell a quarterly zine with stories, series, and other musings.  Or, I’d even have a printed/PDF edition of this nifty blog.  I would look for sellers that I like, ask for assistance with writing articles, and have themes every quarter.  It would be hard work, but I’m sure I could do it.  And if anything, it would give me an excuse to hunt down a design suite because seriously, I miss tinkering around with photoshop.

I wouldn’t start anything until later this year or next year.  I would use this blog to reach out to people who’d want to help me, and the PDF file wouldn’t cost very much.  I’m still mulling over it, though.  My son is first and foremost in my life, and I don’t want to leave him behind.  Still, the thought of sharing my craft with others makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

